in the heat of the moment

by

I find it ironic that a mantra of my worldview is to live in the moment. And I mean truly live in the moment. None of that cliche bullshit that people sing about in songs, but to literally be present through practiced meditation and being self-aware. The reason I find it ironic is that when I place myself in tense situations that require quick thinking, half the time my mind starts dry-heaving random thoughts and I can’t assemble a single coherent sentence.

Case in point: earlier this week I approached someone about something that made me incredibly nervous. I walked up to them, said one sentence, then proceeded to babble to the point where I don’t even remember what I said! The nerves start a-flyin’ and the shoulders tense and the next thing you know the interaction’s over and I’m not quite sure what was said except for how it made me feel. All the energy seems to accumulate in my head and I can’t focus or say the right thing.

I guess part of it originates in the fact that I tend not to plan ahead when I do thingsĀ  that I consider crazy or ballsy. My mentality is that it will all take care of itself so long as, in action, I stay true to myself and trust my instincts. Most times it doesn’t always go according to plan. Either I’m falling down a waterfall (literally) or, in the above-mentioned case, I’m walking away when the other person isn’t even done talking. When I do a thing, I’m fully committed until it’s over. And though it may not always go according to plan, the end results tend to work themselves out. As long as you can tell yourself that it is what it is, life can never really be that bad.

But hey, hindsight’s 20/20, right? If I would have had that perfect vision going into the situation, all would have been well. But, alas, the imperfection of life and my own actions blindsided me yet again.

I’m going to end this post with a question (don’t expect this to happen too often, as normally I’ll just assume I know the answers to everything and tell you them). What do you do to calm yourself down in tense or awkward situations? Do you do any prep work beforehand if you can foresee the situation (shoulder shrugs, stretching, saying “unique new york” over and over)? I regulate my breathing and try to clear my head, but I’m open to new techniques.

Please – comment away.

3 Responses to “in the heat of the moment”

  1. Traci Says:

    You should read the Power of Now. Seriously.

  2. jeffhirz Says:

    Thanks Traci. I read the intro on Amazon and immediately placed my order. I knew I was going to buy the book as soon as I read the first line: “You are not your mind.” Have you ever read “Way of the Peaceful Warrior”?

  3. Jess Says:

    I just breathe. . .

Leave a Reply

