walking barefoot

by

During fall and spring quarter at OU, it was a rare week that went by where I wasn’t called a hobbit or a neanderthal. My first weekend there freshman year  I  walked two miles around campus, down Union Street, Court Street, North Green, South Green, barefoot. Knowing what I know now, I probably would have shied away from that decision…

Regardless. I walked (and walk) barefoot as often as humanly possible. I just escaped from this storage closet I call an office for about 15 minutes to enjoy the nicest day yet this year. Took off my dress shoes, my black socks, and just went for a stroll in the grass.

Feeling the grass on my feet helps me to remember to feel the wind on my face. Feeling the wind on my face helps me to remember to breathe deeper and easier. There’s something about walking barefoot that is just so beautiful in its simplicity. It’s pure…it’s you and nature with nothing in between. No sports cars. No reality television. No societal norms to be abided. No drama. You just feel the blades of grass bend beneath the soles of your feet. You feel others sprout between your toes or simply brush the sides.

It’s simple.

It’s perfect.

It’s incorruptible.

To see it explained much better than I ever could, click here.

So keep your Housewives of New York and your designer heels. I’ll take being barefoot in the grass any day.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “walking barefoot”

  1. Greg Strosaker Says:

    You should join the “minimalist runner” movement. I’d recommend avoiding it in the winter in Cleveland, though.

  2. Jess Says:

    I’m calling you when I get stressed. . . your post made me feel so much better (and I didn’t think I was even tense). I’m going to take a walk now! 🙂

  3. Nicole Says:

    You’re one of the people that I would worry about in the new Baker Center who would go up and down the escalators without shoes. I didn’t want to have to fill out any incident reports for injured feet! great post, takes me back to College Green 🙂

Leave a Reply

