shootin’ from the hip

by

For the past six or seven months I’ve been feeling like I’m in limbo. Not necessarily going forward or backward – just living. But as I was thinking about it, I realized I didn’t really like the living in limbo analogy I’d applied to my life. Reminds me too much of stagnation – and I’m definitely not stagnating. Sometimes, yes, you have to be stagnant and reflect to regenerate, but I prefer to think of myself for now as “shooting from the hip.

the spread shot

I’ve never fired a gun. But, as with most of my blog posts, the title of this post is merely an analogy. When you shoot from the hip you’re not as accurate but you shoot faster – as opposed to taking the time to bring the gun up to your shoulder. I like to compare it to the spread shot in Contra – although you never miss with that baby.

I went to New York last week with a good friend. The best part about the trip was that we didn’t have an agenda. We knew a couple things we wanted to do, but really we just wanted to roll with it, which is exactly what we did. The only expectation we had was that we would have fun just living, putting a few more experiences under our belts for future reference. If something came up that gave us an opportunity to do something different, to experience something new, we did that thing. This is how we found the coolest bar in Manhattan.

This is also how I’ve been living my life. Looking to do as much as I can, rack up as many experiences as possible, create countless fond memories, have as much frickin’ fun I possible can, all before I kick the bucket. I’m free. I do what I want.

l-i-v-i-n (like a freebird)

I just want to free fall for a while.

Not necessarily looking to hit my target as accurately as I could, just doing as much as I can in as short of a time span as possible. I’m just looking to have a good time and enjoy what’s left of my life. Go as far as I can as fast as I can – without forgetting to enjoy the ride.

livin’ on impulse

I thrive on the unpredictable, on the impulsive, but there’s so much more I want to do regardless of consequences.

  • I want to say “I love you” and not mean it (and hear it said back in the same form)
  • I want to see more sunrises
  • I want to get so little sleep that I’m running on fumes
  • I want to go for more 70-mile drives
  • I want another $150 bar tab that was worth every memory (last night living in Columbus)

I’m not really considering the consequences of my actions, as they really only affect me, in a non-chaos-theory sort of way. Granted, I temper this impulsive free-for-all with logic and reason, but for the most part I go with my gut. After all, the instinct is right 90% of the time, so follow it!

If I see something I want, I’m gonna go for it:

  • I’ll buy Avatar the day after it comes out on DVD
  • I’ll get shut down three times by three different girls in one night at the same bar (90% of the time…?)
  • I’ll start running again to prep for my second marathon in October
  • I’ll stay up til 4 a.m. with a good friend on a work night and gladly pay the price the next day
  • I’ll put flowers on a desk and pray for a phone call

So I’m just going to keep shootin’ from the hip. Seems to be working for now.

Live wild. Live free.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

