there is no good

by

There is no good. There is no bad. There just is what is.

This is a very hard mentality to adopt in today’s Western world, but a worthwhile way to think, in my humble opinion.

I see the world spinning into madness, into chaos. We’re spiraling around with no direction in a maelstrom of greed, profiteering, pride and vanity. I see the gluttony. I see the racism, the ignorance born of god knows what. I see the hubris, I see the people who don’t want to be “inconvenienced.” If you can adopt the above mentality, inconvenience is nothing. But instead I see selfishness. I see the irrationality of people’s actions, the sacrifice of logic in favor of short-sighted emotions.

a query

I see all this and wonder helplessly, “What can I do?” What can I do to fully divert myself from all those paths and what can I do about others who are on them? Is it my responsibility to agonize over all of this? What right do I have? But more importantly than the lamentation, what can I do?

I can treat everyone with respect, even those I don’t think deserve it. I can start riding my bike to the vast majority of my destinations. I can take shorter showers. I can live minimally and avoid over-consumption. I can focus on improving my own mind and body instead of the quantity and quality of my physical possessions. I can blog about my experiences to share them  in hopes that I’ll inspire others to take similar action.

an obstacle

But I’m one person on a planet of more than six billion. What the hell can I do that will make any semblance of an impact?

It’s times like these that make me feel the natural disasters supposedly accompanying December 21, 2012 would be a good thing for this world. We’ve taken the earth and viciously raped it for too long. And like a rape victim deserving of their revenge, this world will lash out at us in retaliation for the shit we pull.

So, in light of all of this, should I do all of the things I discussed above when I know that in the end they probably won’t have much of an impact? That I’ll ultimately be but a solitary raindrop in a torrential rainstorm?

an opportunity

The answer is yes.

But why? Why would I do all of these things when I know I won’t be affecting even a minute percentage of the population, or more than a patch of soil, or a few gallons of water or a few puffs of air? Two simple reasons:

1.) It’s the right thing to do.

I do it because I know, plainly, that it’s the right thing to do, regardless of the consequences. Sometimes answers to problems really are that simple, believe it or not. That’s a philosophy I’ve led my entire life, and I like to think I’m of pretty sound mind. Complications are thrown in by others, and ourselves, primarily due to pride. Cut out your pride and you’ll find yourself in a much healthier state of mind. You’ll know right action without having to even think about it.

2.) Hope.

My blog post last week discussed this concept. I do these things because I hope for a better future. Because I can hope for a light at the end of the tunnel. I can hope that others will heed my words and the words of so many others discussing the exact same concepts – and probably much more tactfully than I can manage with my pampered prose.

Some of you may call my thought pattern pessimistic. That’s fine. But no matter how you look at the world, you can’t deny that we’ve dealt it a severe blow by multiplying so quickly and by consuming so much. Pessimistic, realistic or optimistic – the conclusion is the same. And if it takes pessimism to bring the situation to light, then so be it. I’ll gladly bear that burden (albeit, I prefer to dub my point of view “realism”).

So in terms of how you deal with others…in terms of how you live your daily life, perhaps it’s time for an altered perspective? And, in turn, an altered lifestyle?

Baby steps lead to a progression by leaps and bounds.

2 Responses to “there is no good”

  1. top 10 books of 2011 « livin' like a freebird Says:

    […] favorite line above essentially sums up the book for me, personally. There is no good. There is no bad. There just is what is. This philosophy teaches us to adapt, to roll with the bunches (to be cliche). We don’t say […]

  2. experience it « livin' like a freebird Says:

    […] Having no expectations is a powerful place to be. It allows you to enter every situation with a blank slate, with Locke’s tabula rasa. Why is this powerful? Because you go into everything with an open mind, not allowing stress to invade your mind or your tensing shoulders. You’re always pleasantly surprised, being closer to understanding that there is no good, there is no bad, there just is what is. […]

Leave a Reply

