stay hungry. stay foolish.

by

This post was inadvertently inspired by a few people:

  • My dad
  • My cousin
  • A friend of a friend
  • Steve Jobs

You’re bored already, but stay with me on this one.

In the space of a mere two months, these four people have had near-death experiences…or died. I may offend people with this post, but quite frankly, I don’t give a shit. I talk about death on a day-to-day basis on this blog. If you don’t agree with me, your problem, not mine (but I’d still like to hear from you why you disagree! Love me a good debate).

1. My dad contracted a bladder infection that went septic and spread to the rest of his body, gradually shutting down one organ at a time. He soon realized his body was giving out on him and went to the hospital, where he spent the next week laid up in a bed on antibiotics, receiving diagnosis after diagnosis of what people thought might be wrong with him.

2. My cousin, literally a week later, had a terrible accident and broke a femur, six ribs, and punctured both lungs. The ICU bed swapped my dad for my cousin, and another round of visiting hours began.

3. A friend of a friend, to whom I once gave a ride home nearly four years ago, was killed in a terrible accident at the age of 25. My age. Your age – if not now, then at one point. If not at one point, then soon to be. So young.

4. Steve Jobs…what more needs to be said. An amazing individual, to be cliche. A visionary, to be more cliche. But a man as cliche as Steve Jobs may be, is the type of man I hope people will call me.

a glimpse of mortality

Near-death experiences occur daily. Death occurs at more frequent intervals than even that. This forces us to face a cold hard fact: we are not immortal. The question then, the real conundrum to which we have lived 10,000 years and never uncovered a universal answer, is “What is the point?”

Nobody knows. Not your local pastor. Not mommy or daddy. Not your priest. Not your instinct.

So what do experiences like the ones I listed above have to do with where I’m going with this? One of the core concepts of my life philosophy is that we’re consistently getting closer and closer to where we want to be as moral, graceful human beings (ASIDE: at the same time it can be argued that we’re departing further and further from our humanity given technological advancement and overpopulation, but that is to be argued and assessed in a later blog post).

Near-death experiences, and the experience of the living in dealing with the dead, should take us closer to this universal realization, should enliven us. The former, enriching our lives by recognizing the fact that every moment, literally every moment, could be our last. The latter, killing us a little inside, but forcing us to live that much more vivaciously for that which was lost and cannot be recovered, only affectionately remembered.

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma — which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.”

Stay hungry. Stay foolish.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

