got the magic in you?

by

Feelings of inadequacy abound.

  • “I’m not good enough.”
  • “I’m not naturally talented.”
  • “I’m not smart enough.”
  • “That person did it first, so now I can’t do it anymore.”

Why is it that we’re able to psyche ourselves out so effectively rather than just simply doing the damn thang? Is it fear? Is it anxiety? Is it an emotionless obstacle, like Steven Pressfield’s Resistance?

our deepest fear is our greatest strength

There’s a saying floating around that rings something like this: “Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.”

How many of us truly believe that? How many of us have witnessed within ourselves that capacity for power beyond measure? Perhaps that’s legitimate for some, and perhaps that’s a way of rationalizing inadequacy for others. I don’t know. All I know is that I don’t accept it.

The truth is, we all have magic in us. We all have an untapped well of power, of strength, of fortitude, that we’re simply too inconvenienced to tap into. Why dig deeper when we can watch TV? Why improve ourselves when we can settle and still get by? Why meditate when we can masturbate?

We find pleasant distractions and diversions that effectively turn us away from our goals, from our true directions.

The problem with bettering ourselves is it’s never fast, it’s never easy, and – the worst part – it’s rarely a brilliant flash of accomplishment and satisfaction when we achieve our goals. There is no shortcut to self-improvement, whether we want to become a better writer, a better doctor, a better student, ambidextrous, or a faster runner, it takes hours upon days upon weeks upon months upon years of dedication before we achieve sustainable results. Sure, we can achieve results tomorrow if we want. I could publish my first e-book by end of day today. I could grow muscle with one hour at the gym. But if we want lasting effects, if we want true success – what some call luck – that requires preparation.

Only then can we be ready for the opportunity. Think: you may be preparing for your success right now without even knowing it. If you’re not . . .

It’s time to start building toward it.

It’s time to start fearing our own power.

Got the magic in you?

Tags: , ,

7 Responses to “got the magic in you?”

  1. theandihall Says:

    I’m glad I now follow your blogs. Thank you for the inspiration today. Love & light…

  2. righttobitch Says:

    One of my favorite quotes: “Mastery is not something that strikes in an instant”. On the topic, I read once that it takes somewhere around 10,000 hours of practice to master an instrument. Fathom that! Good post too — I think everyone should be aware of the quote that you mention too — it might flip a lot of sour perspectives around.

  3. susan pearson Says:

    Nice post. It brings to mind that it takes most successful people 10 – 20 years to be an overnight success!

  4. danceintheline Says:

    This was very inspiring. Sometimes I do limit myself because I feel like who am I to be doing/saying a certain thing, but deep down I really feel like I have something important to contribute. Thank you for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

